Greasemonkey wish: Auto-update user scripts

I’m the kind of guy who likes to know when a new version of a software I use is released, and update whenever I can (I guess this is why I installed Office 2007 when it was in Beta). This is why I use Update Notifier Firefox extension, which automatically checks for Firefox add-ons when Firefox starts.

I think Greasemonkey should evolve to support such mechanism for user scripts – each user script should be able to mention its current version and its URL as part of its metadata and then Greasemonkey can periodically check if the user script is updated. As it is now, I might find a script on userscripts.org and install it, but I won’t know that the script was later improved by its author. I think this would be great.

update: while wondering around userscripts.org, I found this script which seems to do what I want. I’ll look into it tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Greasemonkey wish: Auto-update user scripts”

  1. lazyttrick Says:

    Hi, checkout my script Updater, it’s really easy to use, and it’s working nice.

    http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/26062

    Let me know what you think, thanks!

  2. splintor Says:

    @lazyttrick: Very nice idea. Thanks for the pointer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

