The one application I miss

There is really one application I recently miss – a task bar fish-eye magnifier.

I tend to use the Quick Launch toolbar in the task bar a lot. I even set it in a top, separate line to start all sorts of macros and applications that do quick handy things for me. It turns out that although I know how to find my way in Windows using the keyboard, I’m not the kind of guy who would use Launchy for these kind of things.

The problem is, I always find myself looking for the icon I need. What I would like is that when I’m approaching the task bar area with the mouse, icons will start growing, with optionally displaying their description, so it is easier to choose. Something like what Alexei did, or what the dojo toolkit has.

I know that there is a Yahoo! Widget that does it, and also sTabLauncher, but they are both too large, and are placed it in a different location on the screen, which interferes with my day-to-day work. I want an application that acts directly on the Quick Launch toolbar and other toolbars in the task bar.

I might end up writing it someday…

2 Responses to “The one application I miss”

  1. splintor’s blog Says:

    […] some more people saying how Launchy is really good, I thought I’d give it a try, although I said I’m not the kind of guy who uses […]

  2. Ed Says:

    Like you, I’ve been looking for something like this for some time now. The yahoo widget is cool, but i dont see myself using the yahoo widget engine for anything else really, so I dont want to bog down my computer with that just for the fisheye quick launch.
    Also, I have to agree with you that I would also not want to have a random floating or seperate element in my desktop when what SHOULD be happening is either an enhancement of the already default Quicklaunch toolbar or a development of a replacement QuickLaunch toolbar that has the fisheye feature and that will use the same location of the shortcuts that the default QuickLaunch uses.

    let me know if you ever come accros something like that and I’ll try and do the same.

    -Cheers

Leave a Reply

